Additional State AGs Join Challenge To Dodd-Frank Act Provisions


On February 13, the plaintiffs in a case challenging portions of the Dodd-Frank Act sought leave to file a second amended complaint to add as plaintiffs the state attorneys general (AGs) of Alabama, Georgia, Kansas, Montana, Nebraska, Ohio, Texas, and West Virginia. Motion for Leave to File Second Amended Complaint, State Nat’l Bank of Big Spring v. Wolin, No 12-1032 (D.D.C., filed Feb. 13, 2013). The new state AGs join the AGs of Michigan, Oklahoma, and South Carolina, who previously joined the suit and claim that the “orderly liquidation authority” (OLA) for financial institutions provided to the Treasury Secretary by the Dodd-Frank Act violates the separation of powers doctrine, as well as the Fifth Amendment’s bar against the taking of property without due process. The case also involves private party plaintiffs who, in addition to challenging the OLA, challenge as unconstitutional (i) the formation and operation of the CFPB, (ii) the appointment of CFPB Director Richard Cordray, and (iii) the operation of the Financial Stability Oversight Council. The plaintiffs were due to respond to a pending government motion to dismiss, but asked the court to stay briefing on that motion pending resolution of the motion to file a second amended complaint.