California’s Shine the Light Act: Plenty of Reason$ for Businesses Not to Shine It On

Recent class actions regarding California’s Shine the Light Act illuminate the need for California businesses to pay attention to their privacy policy compliance practices. Violations of the Act can incur civil penalties of $500 per violation — or $3,000 per violation if it was willful, intentional or reckless — in addition to attorney’s fees and court costs.

Shine the Light laws have been on the books since 2005, and require any organization doing business with California residents to protect personal information. That protection includes requirements to notify California customers:

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.