Drinking and driving causes almost a third of all traffic-related deaths in the United States, with more than 30 Americans killed each day in alcohol-related accidents. Drinking alcohol impairs judgment, hampers balance and drastically slows response time.
It comes as no surprise that drunk driving charges result in severe legal consequences. New Jersey applies a harsh series of escalating penalties, including fines, imprisonment, license suspension, insurance surcharges, installation of an ignition interlock system and mandatory training at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. The consequences for each subsequent conviction are increasingly harsh.
A person who operates a motor vehicle while having blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08 or higher violates New Jersey laws for driving while intoxicated (DUI). When the BAC hits higher than .10, the punishments get even more severe.
Here are examples of the penalties for driving while intoxicated in New Jersey, with a BAC in the range of .08 to just less than .10:
For the first offense:
A fine of $250 to $400
Imprisonment for up to 30 days
License suspension for three months
At least six hours of training a day for two consecutive days at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for 3 years
For the second and subsequent offenses, penalties are increased in each area.
In addition to these penalties, other fees and charges may apply. Penalties can be increased if the BAC is higher than .10, or if there are aggravating circumstances such as driving while intoxicated with a child in the vehicle.
In short, don’t drink and drive. If you have been accused of driving while intoxicated, contact our law firm so we can help you in your defense.
Posted in Criminal Defense Tagged criminal defense, criminal law, Drunk driving, DUI, DUI penalties, DWI