EU Sanctions against Libya – Listing of Libyan Ports


On 7 June 2011, the Council of the European Union agreed Council Decision 2011/332/CFSP. The Decision set out the Council's intention to freeze the assets of six port authorities in Libya. The asset freeze took effect on the publication of Council Regulation (EU) No 572/2011 (the "Regulation") on 17 June 2011.

The designated port authorities are as follows:

• Port authority of Tripoli

• Port authority of Al Khoms

• Port authority of Brega

• Port authority of Ras Lanuf

• Port authority of Zawia

• Port authority of Zuwara

No funds or economic resources should be made available, directly or indirectly to, or for the benefit of, the designated ports. Practically, this means that it is not possible to pay port dues or other fees or disbursements to these listed port authorities.

Ports are not new sanctions targets. Abidjan and San Pedro in Ivory Coast were designated by the EU in January 2011, although they have now been delisted.

Please see full alert below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Reed Smith | Attorney Advertising

Written by:


Reed Smith on:

Popular Topics
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:

Sign up to create your digest using LinkedIn*

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.

Already signed up? Log in here

*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.