EU updates sanctions measures against Syria, North Korea and Zimbabwe

I. Introduction -

The EU has updated its sanctions measures against Syria, North Korea and Zimbabwe.

For Syria, the Council has renewed its sanctions for a further three months, while introducing certain amendments to the existing arms embargo in the interest of protecting civilians.

For North Korea, the EU has introduced several new sanctions measures – involving trade bans for ballistic missile components, precious metals and diamonds and public bonds, as well as restrictions relating to banknotes and banks – and the list of parties whose assets are frozen has been expanded. To recognise the significance of certain advances in Zimbabwe, the EU has decided to delist certain persons and entities whose assets are frozen, while at the same time extending the sanctions for another year.

Please see full alert below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© White & Case LLP | Attorney Advertising

Written by:


White & Case LLP on:

Readers' Choice 2017
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:

Sign up to create your digest using LinkedIn*

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.

Already signed up? Log in here

*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.