Ever Wonder Who’s In Charge At The Department Of Business Oversight?

I’m still adjusting to the fact that the Departments of Corporations and Financial Institutions have merged or morphed into the totalitarian sounding Department of Business OversightSee DOC and DFI – RIP.  Like each of its predecessors, the new Department is headed by a single Commissioner.  In July, Governor Brown appointed Jan Lynn Owen as the Department’s first Commissioner.  Jan had served as Commissioner of Corporations since December, 2011.  Before then, she served as state director of government and industry affairs at Washington Mutual Inc. from 2002 to 2008 and executive director of the California Mortgage Bankers Association from 2000 to 2002.  She was acting commissioner of the California Department of Financial Institutions from 1999 to 2000, where she served as deputy commissioner from 1996 to 1999.  Governor Brown appointed the Commissioner of the former Department of Financial Institutions, Teveia Barnes, to the post of executive director of the California Infrastructure and Economic Development Bank (aka the I-Bank).

The new executive roster at the DBO includes the following:

  • Dave O’Toole, Chief Deputy
  • John Hanna, Chief Counsel
  • Scott Cameron, Deputy Commissioner for Banking
  • RaAnn Wood, Deputy Commissioner for Credit Unions
  • Robert Venchiarutti, Deputy Commissioner for Money Transmitters
  • Jerry Twomey, Deputy Commissioner for Broker-Dealers and Investment Advisors
  • Louisa Broudy, Deputy Commissioner for Financial Services
  • Lila Mirrashidi, Deputy Commissioner for Law and Policy
  • Patty Salazar, Deputy Commissioner for Public Affairs
  • Mary Ann Smith, Deputy Commissioner for Enforcement
  • Marilyn Davis, Deputy Commissioner for Legislation
  • Dawne Bortolazzo, Deputy Commissioner for Administration


DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Allen Matkins Leck Gamble Mallory & Natsis LLP | Attorney Advertising

Written by:


Allen Matkins Leck Gamble Mallory & Natsis LLP on:

Popular Topics
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:

Sign up to create your digest using LinkedIn*

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.

Already signed up? Log in here

*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.