Fannie Mae Updates Delinquency Status Reporting Policies


On April 10, Fannie Mae issued Servicing Guide Announcement SVC-2013-08, which introduces a delinquency status code hierarchy and updates delinquency status code definitions. The hierarchy requires servicers to report the most appropriate delinquency status code based on priority level, using a six level priority hierarchy. The announcement explains that when multiple delinquency status codes are applicable to an individual loan, the servicer must use the appropriate delinquency status code in the highest priority, though Priority Level 1 through 3 status codes are mutually exclusive. The changes will take effect for the February 2014 delinquency status code reporting cycle (for January 2014 activity), though Fannie Mae encourages servicers to implement the new policies as soon as possible.

Topics:  Delinquency Status, Fannie Mae

Published In: General Business Updates, Finance & Banking Updates, Residential Real Estate Updates

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© BuckleySandler LLP | Attorney Advertising

Don't miss a thing! Build a custom news brief:

Read fresh new writing on compliance, cybersecurity, Dodd-Frank, whistleblowers, social media, hiring & firing, patent reform, the NLRB, Obamacare, the SEC…

…or whatever matters the most to you. Follow authors, firms, and topics on JD Supra.

Create your news brief now - it's free and easy »