In 2007, the FDA proposed guidelines for gluten-free labeling. The gluten component of foods is important to people with celiac disease, a disorder in which essential nutrients can’t be metabolized when gluten is consumed. Gluten is a constituent of many grains, such as wheat, barley and rye.
Now, the FDA-approved definition of "gluten-free" is up for review, and the agency is reopening the comment period. Rules for what can be deemed gluten-free were never adopted.
As reported in Food Safety News, last week Michael Taylor of the FDA said, "We want to get the most up-to-date information and data from affected consumers, from the food industry, researchers and others to ensure that we're making the right public health call in defining gluten-free."
Please see full article below for more information.
Firefox recommends the PDF Plugin for Mac OS X for viewing PDF documents in your browser.
We can also show you Legal Updates using the Google Viewer; however, you will need to be logged into Google Docs to view them.
Please choose one of the above to proceed!
LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.