Fish And Wildlife Service Lists 23 Oahu Species And Designates Over 40,000 Acres As Critical Habitat


On September 17, 2012, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service announced (pdf) that it had issued a final rule listing 23 species native to the Hawaiian island of Oahu as threatened or endangered under the Endangered Species Act.  The species include 20 plants and three damselflies. The rule follows a legal settlement with the Center for Biological Diversity that required the agency to make determinations with respect to 757 species, including 17 of the 23 Oahu species granted protection.  At the same time it issued the listing determinations, the Service designated 42,804 acres (or approximately 67 square miles) of critical habitat for 124 species.  Nearly 93% of the designated habitat has previously been identified as necessary to the conservation of the newly listed species.

According to the Fish and Wildlife Service all of the listed species are threatened by habitat  destruction and alteration.  The Crimson Hawaiian damselfly, pictured below, is one of the species listed, and like a butterfly also goes through metamorphosis. 







Written by:

Published In:

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Nossaman LLP | Attorney Advertising

Don't miss a thing! Build a custom news brief:

Read fresh new writing on compliance, cybersecurity, Dodd-Frank, whistleblowers, social media, hiring & firing, patent reform, the NLRB, Obamacare, the SEC…

…or whatever matters the most to you. Follow authors, firms, and topics on JD Supra.

Create your news brief now - it's free and easy »

All the intelligence you need, in one easy email:

Great! Your first step to building an email digest of JD Supra authors and topics. Log in with LinkedIn so we can start sending your digest...

Sign up for your custom alerts now, using LinkedIn ›

* With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name.