How A Domestic Abuse Charge Can Affect You and Your Family

more+
less-
more+
less-
Explore:  Domestic Violence

A domestic abuse charge can affect your custody rights, your employment and many other areas of your life. In Michigan, domestic abuse is defined as: an assault or an assault & battery by a:

  • spouse
  • former spouse
  • person residing or having resided in the same household as the victim
  • person having a child in common with the victim
  • person with whom he/she has or has had a dating relationship

In Michigan there are two types of charges associated with domestic violence: Domestic Assault [MCL 750.81] and Aggravated Domestic Assault [MCL 750.81a].

For a charge of domestic assault, the victim need not be injured. The criminal penalties for such a charge are as follows:

  • First conviction: up to 93 days in jail and/or $500 fine
  • Second conviction: up to one year in jail and/or $1,000 fine
  • Third (or more) convictions: up to two years in prison and/or a $2,500 fine

These penalties can also include probation, counseling and community services.

For a charge of aggravated domestic assault, the victim must have sustained serious injuries.  The criminal penalties for this charge are as follows:

  • First conviction: up to one year in jail and/or $1,000 fine
  • Second conviction: up to two years in prison and/or $2,500 fine
  • Third conviction:

Just as with domestic assault, these penalties can also include probation, counseling and community services.

Other potential consequences include denial of professional or occupational licenses, loss of educational opportunities, and adverse employment consequences including suspensions and job loss.

Domestic assault charges are serious charges requiring an equally serious defense with the assistance of experienced attorneys.  If you have been charged with domestic abuse, call 1-888-559-4705 or contact criminal defense lawyers at Boyer Dawson & St. Pierre online.

Posted in Criminal Defense