Merger Control in Africa


Created in 1994, the Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (the “COMESA”) is an organisation currently comprised of 19 African countries which aim at promoting regional integration in Eastern and Southern Africa (the “Common Market”) notably through development of trade and investment.

To achieve its objectives, the COMESA has notably implemented the COMESA Competition Regulations (the “Regulations”) which apply to all economic activities that might prevent, restrict or distort competition within the Common Market and especially target anti-competitive business practices and mergers and acquisitions.

A regional competition authority: the COMESA Competition Commission (the “Commission”) located in Lilongwe, Malawi, was also launched to promote fair competition within the Common Market and to monitor compliance with the Regulations.

Please see full article below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

Topics:  Acquisitions, Anti-Competitive, COMESA, Cross-Border, Notice Requirements, Threshhold Requirements

Published In: Antitrust & Trade Regulation Updates, International Trade Updates, Mergers & Acquisitions Updates, Securities Updates

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Aird & Berlis | Attorney Advertising

Don't miss a thing! Build a custom news brief:

Read fresh new writing on compliance, cybersecurity, Dodd-Frank, whistleblowers, social media, hiring & firing, patent reform, the NLRB, Obamacare, the SEC…

…or whatever matters the most to you. Follow authors, firms, and topics on JD Supra.

Create your news brief now - it's free and easy »