Starting today, November 1, 2012, Wisconsin law prohibits drivers who have either an instruction permit or a probationary license from using a mobile phone or other wireless communication device while driving. The only exception to the new law is that these drivers may use a mobile phone to report an emergency. First-time violators of the new law will face fines from $20 to $40. Wisconsin law prohibits all drivers from texting while driving.
The personal injury lawyers of Samster, Konkel & Safran, S.C. encourage all drivers not to talk on the phone or text while driving. We are involved in a safety campaign where our automobile accident attorneys give presentations regarding the dangers of distracted driving, such as texting and driving. If you know of a school or a community group that would benefit from a distracted driving presentation, contact us and one of our attorneys would be happy to arrange a presentation.