Employment, Benefits & Labor
Please take note that effective July 1, 2014, the following California laws take effect:
California Paid Family Leave (“PFL”) will be extended to more family members, including seriously ill grandparents, grandchildren, siblings, or parent-in-laws. By July 1, employers must distribute updated PFL pamphlets containing the new family members to new hires as well as those employees who qualify for a PFL leave. The PFL pamphlet can be obtained on the EDD website at this link: http://www.edd.ca.gov/pdf_pub_ctr/de2511.pdf
Additionally, starting July 1, California employers must also distribute a revised workers’ compensation pamphlet to all new employees at the time of hire. The pamphlet contains various information on the workers’ compensation program, including modified requirements for employees to pre-designate a personal physician. Please consult your carrier about obtaining this pamphlet.
Finally, California’s minimum wage is raised to $9.00 per hour effective July 1, 2014, and to $10.00 per hour effective January 1, 2016. Please keep in mind that California employers will need to pay exempt employees $37,440 annually on a salaried basis in order to maintain exempt status. This number will rise to $41,600 on January 1, 2016.