In New Jersey and across the country, more and more people are using cell phones, GPS devices and other gadgets while driving. However, while technology can certainly make life on the road easier, if not used responsibly, it can also cause an accident. Like most states, New Jersey recognizes that distracted driving is becoming a major cause of traffic accidents.
Listed below are examples of behaviors that can divert a driver’s attention away from the road:
Talking on a cellular phone
Tuning a radio or CD player
Talking to other passengers
Tending to children or pets
Eating and drinking
What the law covers
Currently, in New Jersey, drivers who wish to make phone calls must do use by using a hands free device. Playing video games or sending text messages while driving is strictly prohibited throughout the state. In addition, if you are a bus driver, you are banned from using a cell phone in any capacity while operating a school vehicle. Novice drivers and young drivers with learning permits are prohibited from using any electronic devices while operating a motor vehicle.
It is important to realize that under the current legislature for distracted driving in New Jersey, you may be fined $100 – $250. However, the law explains that no driver’s license points or auto insurance eligibility points shall be assessed for the offense. While this is the current law in the state, a bill has recently been passed that is seeking to make NJ the toughest state when it comes to distracted driving and driving while using a cell phone. A knowledgeable attorney can help when you are injured by a distracted driver.
Posted in Personal Injury