President Obama Nominates Two Senate Staff Members As SEC Commissioners


On May 23, President Obama nominated Michael Piwowar and Kara Stein to be members of the Securities and Exchange Commission. Both nominees currently serve as staff members in the U.S. Senate. Mr. Piwowar is a chief economist for the Senate Banking Committee’s Republicans. He would replace Troy Paredes, whose term is expiring, for a full five-year term set to end on June 5, 2018. Ms. Stein is senior aide to Senator Jack Reed (D-RI) and would replace Elisse Walter, whose term has already expired, for a term that would expire on June 5, 2017.

Written by:

Published In:


DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© BuckleySandler LLP | Attorney Advertising

Don't miss a thing! Build a custom news brief:

Read fresh new writing on compliance, cybersecurity, Dodd-Frank, whistleblowers, social media, hiring & firing, patent reform, the NLRB, Obamacare, the SEC…

…or whatever matters the most to you. Follow authors, firms, and topics on JD Supra.

Create your news brief now - it's free and easy »

All the intelligence you need, in one easy email:

Great! Your first step to building an email digest of JD Supra authors and topics. Log in with LinkedIn so we can start sending your digest...

Sign up for your custom alerts now, using LinkedIn ›

* With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name.