Motor vehicle accidents are the number one cause of death and injuries to children between one and 12 years of age in the United States. Proper car seat use can significantly reduce this alarming statistic. With this in mind, Georgia statutes require parents and caregivers to buckle up their kids using appropriate restraint systems.
The Georgia Governor’s Office of Consumer Protection summarizes the car seat laws as:
Children younger than eight who are less than 57 inches tall must ride in the back seat.
Children younger than eight must be either belted into a car seat or booster seat appropriate to their individual age and height.
Children younger than eight who weigh at least 40 pounds may ride in the front seat while properly restrained in a car or booster seat if other children occupy the backseat or if there is no backseat in the vehicle — e.g., a truck.
In addition, to increasing the risk of your child’s injury, a first offense can result in a $50 fine and a point issued against your driver’s license. A second citation doubles fines and points.
Your child’s restraint system only works if you are using the right equipment and it is installed correctly. Learn more about buckling up your child at a child car seat inspection station, where a certified technician can inspect your equipment and instruct you on correct installation, free of charge. To locate a convenient station, refer to the interactive site locater at the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).