Republicans Maintain a Majority in 188 Races for Newly Redrawn Florida Legislative and Congressional Districts


[author: Rheb Harbison]

Republicans held their grip over both chambers of the Florida Legislature in the first election following the spring 2012 redraw of state’s legislative and congressional district lines. The redistricting exercise occurs every 10 years following the most recent U.S. Census, and when complete requires all 160 members of the Florida Legislature to run for office.

The decennial U.S. Census also gave Florida two additional seats in the U.S. House of Representatives, bringing the state’s delegation to 29 members: 27 in the U.S. House of Representatives and two in the U.S. Senate. All of the U.S. House seats were up for election this year.

Democrats held onto one of the two U.S. Senate seats with incumbent U.S. Senator Bill Nelson winning decisively over U.S. Representative Connie Mack in Tuesday’s election. Miami Republican Marco Rubio, who was not up for election this year, holds the other U.S. Senate seat.

As well, voters decided the fate of 11 proposed amendments to the Florida Constitution at Tuesday’s General Election.  All of the proposed amendments were placed on the ballot by the Florida Legislature.

A complete report on the election results for the state’s 2012 General Election is located here.