Senate Banking Committee Approves FHFA Director Nominee, Other Nominees


On July 18, the Senate Banking Committee approved Rep. Mel Watt (D-NC) to be the next Director of the FHFA, on a 12-10 party line vote. On a voice vote, the Committee also approved Michael Piwowar and Kara Stein as members of the Securities Exchange Commission, Jason Furman to serve as member and chairman of the Council of Economic Advisers, and Richard Metsger to sit on the National Credit Union Administration Board. Finally, again by voice vote, the Committee voted to extend the term of SEC Chair Mary Jo White until June 5, 2019. The nominations could come before a vote of the full Senate in the coming weeks.

Written by:

Published In:


DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© BuckleySandler LLP | Attorney Advertising

Don't miss a thing! Build a custom news brief:

Read fresh new writing on compliance, cybersecurity, Dodd-Frank, whistleblowers, social media, hiring & firing, patent reform, the NLRB, Obamacare, the SEC…

…or whatever matters the most to you. Follow authors, firms, and topics on JD Supra.

Create your news brief now - it's free and easy »

All the intelligence you need, in one easy email:

Great! Your first step to building an email digest of JD Supra authors and topics. Log in with LinkedIn so we can start sending your digest...

Sign up for your custom alerts now, using LinkedIn ›

* With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name.