Ten More States Adopt Uniform MLO Test


On July 1, the CSBS announced that ten additional state agencies will use the new National SAFE MLO test. Twenty state agencies adopted the test when it initially was introduced in April 2013. The uniform test combines both the national and state testing requirements of the SAFE Act, replaces the separate, state-specific tests for the states that adopt it, and streamlines the license application process for mortgage loan originators (MLOs) seeking licenses in multiple states. The CSBS reports that an additional five state agencies are scheduled to adopt the test by the start of 2014.

Written by:

Published In:

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© BuckleySandler LLP | Attorney Advertising

Don't miss a thing! Build a custom news brief:

Read fresh new writing on compliance, cybersecurity, Dodd-Frank, whistleblowers, social media, hiring & firing, patent reform, the NLRB, Obamacare, the SEC…

…or whatever matters the most to you. Follow authors, firms, and topics on JD Supra.

Create your news brief now - it's free and easy »

All the intelligence you need, in one easy email:

Great! Your first step to building an email digest of JD Supra authors and topics. Log in with LinkedIn so we can start sending your digest...

Sign up for your custom alerts now, using LinkedIn ›

* With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name.