Texas Taxpayers May See Relief

by Baker Donelson
Contact

A Texas District Court recently interpreted the Texas Tax Code and determined a particular Texas Comptroller's Rule improperly narrows the state statute. The Texas Comptroller's Rule 3.589(c)(2) effectively required taxpayers to take less deductions for franchise tax purposes than they would be allowed to take for federal income tax purposes. 

A Texas taxpayer filed suit against the Texas Comptroller seeking a refund of $30,000 in franchise taxes paid under protest. The taxpayer was alleged to have underpaid taxes because it took deductions for employee benefits, such as parking, occupation taxes and fees related to continuing education. The Texas Comptroller claimed those deductions were improper because Rule 3.589(c)(2) directs certain deductions to be excluded even though a business may take a deduction for the same benefits on its federal income taxes.

Section 171.101(a)(1) of the Texas Tax Code allows a taxpayer to take a deduction for cost of goods sold or compensation. Under a compensation deduction and Section 171.1013(b)(2), the cost of benefits may be deducted to the extent they are also deductible for federal income tax purposes.

Against an argument by the Texas Comptroller, the District Court ruled that these sections of the Texas Tax Code are unambiguous and that Rule 3.589(c)(2) violates the plain meaning of the Tax Code. If this ruling stands, Texas taxpayers may see some relief in the form of additional permitted deductions. The Texas Comptroller may appeal this ruling to the Texas Third Court of Appeals for further consideration.

If you would like to discuss the impact of this ruling on your business, or other Texas state or local tax issues, please contact one of the following attorneys accociated with the Firm's Tax Department:


Houston, Texas
Brad Chambers 713.286.7193 bchambers@bakerdonelson.com

 Nashville, Tennessee

Scott D. Smith 615.726.7391 sdsmith@bakerdonelson.com
Carolyn W. Schott 615.726.7312 cschott@bakerdonelson.com
Daniel A. Stephenson 615.726.5678 dstephenson@bakerdonelson.com
Memphis, Tennessee
William H.D. Fones 901.577.2247 wfones@bakerdonelson.com
Mary Ann Jackson 901.577.8113 mjackson@bakerdonelson.com
Charles E. Pierce 901.577.2164 cpierce@bakerdonelson.com
East Memphis, Tennessee
James "Josh" Hall  901.579.3126 joshhall@bakerdonelson.com
Christopher J. Coats 901.579.3127 ccoats@bakerdonelson.com
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Carl E. Hartley 423.756.2010 chartley@bakerdonelson.com
Virginia C. Love 423.209.4118 vlove@bakerdonelson.com
Sara E. McManus 423.209.4124 smcmanus@bakerdonelson.com
Knoxville, Tennessee
L. Eric Ebbert 865.971.5182 eebbert@bakerdonelson.com
Washington, D.C.
James W. McBride 202.508.3467 jmcbride@bakerdonelson.com
New Orleans, Louisiana
Robert L. Wollfarth 504.566.8623 rwollfarth@bakerdonelson.com
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Alton "Biff" Bayard 225.381.7019 abayard@bakerdonelson.com

Birmingham, Alabama
Thomas J. Mahoney 205.250.8346 tmahoney@bakerdonelson.com
William R.Sylvester 205.250.8372 bsylvester@bakerdonelson.com
Adam S. Winger 205.250.8381 awinger@bakerdonelson.com
Atlanta, Georgia
Nedom A. Haley 404.221.6505 nhaley@bakerdonelson.com
Michael M. Smith 404.589.3419 mmsmith@bakerdonelson.com
Michael S. Evans 404.221.6517 mevans@bakerdonelson.com
Jackson, Mississippi
Stacy E. Thomas 601.351.2484 sthomas@bakerdonelson.com
Jon D. Seawright 601.351.8921 jseawright@bakerdonelson.com
David P. Webb 601.969.4678 dwebb@bakerdonelson.com
C. Tyler Ball 601.351.8959 tball@bakerdonelson.com
Orlando, Florida
Donald Christopher 407.367.5402 dchristopher@bakerdonelson.com
Richard C. Swank 407.367.5404 rswank@bakerdonelson.com
Marty Hartley 407.367.5427 mhartley@bakerdonelson.com

 

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Baker Donelson | Attorney Advertising

Written by:

Baker Donelson
Contact
more
less

Baker Donelson on:

Readers' Choice 2017
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
Sign up using*

Already signed up? Log in here

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Privacy Policy (Updated: October 8, 2015):
hide

JD Supra provides users with access to its legal industry publishing services (the "Service") through its website (the "Website") as well as through other sources. Our policies with regard to data collection and use of personal information of users of the Service, regardless of the manner in which users access the Service, and visitors to the Website are set forth in this statement ("Policy"). By using the Service, you signify your acceptance of this Policy.

Information Collection and Use by JD Supra

JD Supra collects users' names, companies, titles, e-mail address and industry. JD Supra also tracks the pages that users visit, logs IP addresses and aggregates non-personally identifiable user data and browser type. This data is gathered using cookies and other technologies.

The information and data collected is used to authenticate users and to send notifications relating to the Service, including email alerts to which users have subscribed; to manage the Service and Website, to improve the Service and to customize the user's experience. This information is also provided to the authors of the content to give them insight into their readership and help them to improve their content, so that it is most useful for our users.

JD Supra does not sell, rent or otherwise provide your details to third parties, other than to the authors of the content on JD Supra.

If you prefer not to enable cookies, you may change your browser settings to disable cookies; however, please note that rejecting cookies while visiting the Website may result in certain parts of the Website not operating correctly or as efficiently as if cookies were allowed.

Email Choice/Opt-out

Users who opt in to receive emails may choose to no longer receive e-mail updates and newsletters by selecting the "opt-out of future email" option in the email they receive from JD Supra or in their JD Supra account management screen.

Security

JD Supra takes reasonable precautions to insure that user information is kept private. We restrict access to user information to those individuals who reasonably need access to perform their job functions, such as our third party email service, customer service personnel and technical staff. However, please note that no method of transmitting or storing data is completely secure and we cannot guarantee the security of user information. Unauthorized entry or use, hardware or software failure, and other factors may compromise the security of user information at any time.

If you have reason to believe that your interaction with us is no longer secure, you must immediately notify us of the problem by contacting us at info@jdsupra.com. In the unlikely event that we believe that the security of your user information in our possession or control may have been compromised, we may seek to notify you of that development and, if so, will endeavor to do so as promptly as practicable under the circumstances.

Sharing and Disclosure of Information JD Supra Collects

Except as otherwise described in this privacy statement, JD Supra will not disclose personal information to any third party unless we believe that disclosure is necessary to: (1) comply with applicable laws; (2) respond to governmental inquiries or requests; (3) comply with valid legal process; (4) protect the rights, privacy, safety or property of JD Supra, users of the Service, Website visitors or the public; (5) permit us to pursue available remedies or limit the damages that we may sustain; and (6) enforce our Terms & Conditions of Use.

In the event there is a change in the corporate structure of JD Supra such as, but not limited to, merger, consolidation, sale, liquidation or transfer of substantial assets, JD Supra may, in its sole discretion, transfer, sell or assign information collected on and through the Service to one or more affiliated or unaffiliated third parties.

Links to Other Websites

This Website and the Service may contain links to other websites. The operator of such other websites may collect information about you, including through cookies or other technologies. If you are using the Service through the Website and link to another site, you will leave the Website and this Policy will not apply to your use of and activity on those other sites. We encourage you to read the legal notices posted on those sites, including their privacy policies. We shall have no responsibility or liability for your visitation to, and the data collection and use practices of, such other sites. This Policy applies solely to the information collected in connection with your use of this Website and does not apply to any practices conducted offline or in connection with any other websites.

Changes in Our Privacy Policy

We reserve the right to change this Policy at any time. Please refer to the date at the top of this page to determine when this Policy was last revised. Any changes to our privacy policy will become effective upon posting of the revised policy on the Website. By continuing to use the Service or Website following such changes, you will be deemed to have agreed to such changes. If you do not agree with the terms of this Policy, as it may be amended from time to time, in whole or part, please do not continue using the Service or the Website.

Contacting JD Supra

If you have any questions about this privacy statement, the practices of this site, your dealings with this Web site, or if you would like to change any of the information you have provided to us, please contact us at: info@jdsupra.com.

- hide
*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.
Feedback? Tell us what you think of the new jdsupra.com!