Three New Programs to Encourage Worker Reclassification Unveiled


Within the last few weeks, the Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”), the U.S. Department of Labor (“DOL”) and 11 states have joined forces to launch a new set of initiatives to reduce the misclassification of workers.

On September 19, 2011, Hilda Solis, the U.S. Secretary of Labor, announced a joint effort between the DOL, the IRS and 11 states to share information and “coordinate law enforcement” among them with the goal to “end the practice of misclassifying employees in order to avoid providing employment protections.” The participating states are Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New York, Utah and Washington.

A few days later, on September 21, 2011, the IRS announced its Voluntary Classification Settlement Program (“VCSP”)....

Please see full alert below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

Written by:

Published In:


DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Schnader Harrison Segal & Lewis LLP | Attorney Advertising

Don't miss a thing! Build a custom news brief:

Read fresh new writing on compliance, cybersecurity, Dodd-Frank, whistleblowers, social media, hiring & firing, patent reform, the NLRB, Obamacare, the SEC…

…or whatever matters the most to you. Follow authors, firms, and topics on JD Supra.

Create your news brief now - it's free and easy »

All the intelligence you need, in one easy email:

Great! Your first step to building an email digest of JD Supra authors and topics. Log in with LinkedIn so we can start sending your digest...

Sign up for your custom alerts now, using LinkedIn ›

* With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name.