Connecticut Becomes First State to Mandate Paid Sick Leave

more+
less-

On July 1, 2011, Connecticut Governor Dannel P. Malloy signed into law Public Act No. 11-52 (the “Act”) which will make Connecticut the first state to mandate paid sick leave. The Act, which only narrowly passed through Connecticut’s Senate (18-17) and House of Representatives (76-65), is set to take effect on January 1, 2012, and requires employers to allow their “service workers” to earn one hour of paid sick leave for every 40 hours worked, capped at a maximum of 40 hours per year.

The Act applies to the “service workers” of employers with 50 or more employees in Connecticut during any single quarter in the previous year. Certain manufacturers and nationally chartered nonprofit organizations are exempt from the Act’s requirements, however, it is estimated that 200,000 to 300,000 workers will be eligible for the paid leave.

Please see full article below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

Written by:

more+
less-

Sheppard Mullin Richter & Hampton LLP on:

JD Supra Readers' Choice 2016 Awards
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:

Sign up to create your digest using LinkedIn*

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.

Already signed up? Log in here

*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.
×
Loading...
×
×