Two New Commissioners Sworn In At The Federal Trade Commission


Federal Trade Commission (FTC) Chairman Jon Leibowitz has sworn in two new appointees to the five-member commission following their confirmation by the Senate on March 3, 2010. Democrats Edith Ramirez and Julie Brill were sworn in on April 5 and 6, 2010, respectively. Brill most recently practiced consumer protection and antitrust law with the North Carolina Department of Justice, while Ramirez comes to the commission from private practice with a focus on intellectual property litigation and was a former Harvard classmate of and fundraiser for President Obama.1 The new commissioners will replace Republican Deborah Majoras, who stepped down in March 2008, and Independent Pamela Jones Harbour, whose term ended last September. President Obama’s appointments may signal increased enforcement for health care and technology companies.

Please see full alert below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati | Attorney Advertising

Written by:


Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati on:

Popular Topics
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:

Sign up to create your digest using LinkedIn*

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.

Already signed up? Log in here

*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.