Immigration Alert: Visa Waiver Program Expanding to Include New Countries


On October 17, 2008, President Bush announced that the Visa Waiver Program (VWP) will be expanding to include seven new countries, and that six additional countries are ?on track? to be included in the near future. The VWP currently includes a list of 27 ?friendly? countries whose nationals may travel to the United States for 90 days or less for business, pleasure, or transit without requiring a formal visa stamp. These countries extend the same courtesy to U.S. citizens traveling in the same manner. In approximately one month, this list will be officially expanded to include citizens of the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Slovakia, and South Korea. The six additional nations ?on track? to be included at a future date are Bulgaria, Cyprus, Greece, Malta, Poland, and Romania. President Bush did not provide a specific date or timeline for these countries, though we will of course provide updates as they are available.

See full alert for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Mintz Levin - Immigration Law | Attorney Advertising

Written by:


Mintz Levin - Immigration Law on:

Popular Topics
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:

Sign up to create your digest using LinkedIn*

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.

Already signed up? Log in here

*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.