Effective June 1, 2011, Florida's minimum wage will increase to $7.31 per hour. Because this is higher than the current federal minimum wage rate, covered employers will be required to comply with the higher state minimum wage.
The increase is the result of a lawsuit filed earlier this year, which challenged the way the Florida Agency for Workforce Innovation (AWI) calculated adjustments to the state minimum wage rate in 2010 and 2011. See Cadet v. Fla. Agency for Workforce Innovation. Florida law requires the AWI to adjust the minimum wage rate each year for inflation based on the consumer price index for certain workers. The lawsuit claimed the AWI erroneously decreased the state minimum wage rate in 2010 and used this rate to calculate the 2011 rate. The court agreed with the plaintiffs, holding that the method the AWI used to calculate the state minimum wage rate violated state law. Accordingly, the court ordered the agency to issue a notice stating that the state minimum wage will increase to $7.31 per hour effective June 1, 2011.
Please see full alert below for more information.
Firefox recommends the PDF Plugin for Mac OS X for viewing PDF documents in your browser.
We can also show you Legal Updates using the Google Viewer; however, you will need to be logged into Google Docs to view them.
Please choose one of the above to proceed!
LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.
Administrative Law Updates, Labor & Employment Law Updates
DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.
© FordHarrison | Attorney Advertising