Self Check Via E-Verify - Do We Care?


Today, United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) announced the availability of its Self Check employment eligibility confirmation system to residents in an additional 16

states. Back in March of this year, USCIS started the system for residents of Arizona,Colorado, Idaho, Mississippi, Virginia, and District of Columbia. Now,

Texans along with residents of California, Maine, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts,Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, South Carolina, Utah,and Washington can check government records related to their identity and work eligibility. In addition, Self Check is now also available in Spanish. Si, USCIS habla . . . USCIS plans on expanding Self Check nationwide by spring of


LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Kathleen Campbell Walker, Dykema Cox Smith | Attorney Advertising

Written by:


Dykema Cox Smith on:

Readers' Choice 2017
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:

Sign up to create your digest using LinkedIn*

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.

Already signed up? Log in here

*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.