CSA 2010: Saving Lives or Killing Businesses? Depends Upon Who You Ask


CSA 2010 refers to a set of new regulations drafted by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA). CSA stands for “Comprehensive Safety Analysis” and currently it’s been tested in nine states, in a staggered calendar.

In a nutshell, CSA 2010 expands the current Safestat safety rating system where trucking companies are regulated in four categories (Driver, Vehicle, Safety Management, and Accident) to the new CSA system of seven (Unsafe Driving; Fatigued Driving; Driver Fitness; Controlled Substance and Alcohol; Vehicle Maintenance; Improper Loading/Cargo Securement; and Crash Indicator).

How successful the CSA 2010 will be in curtailing wrongful deaths due to commercial truck crashes waits to be seen. We’re going to be thinking positively that the new FSCMA will do what it’s supposed to do — save some lives out there.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Kenneth J. Allen & Associates | Attorney Advertising

Written by:


Kenneth J. Allen & Associates on:

Readers' Choice 2017
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:

Sign up to create your digest using LinkedIn*

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.

Already signed up? Log in here

*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.