Rules for rewarding 'super' condo board members
Bar President: 3Ls Should Get Paid for Internships
Bill on Bankruptcy: Lawyers Must Disclose What Clients Pay
Corporate Law Report: Economic Espionage Act, Top FCPA Enforcement Actions, Trademark Audits, and More
Congressman: My Plan Would Reduce Student Loan Defaults: Video
This year has brought many significant changes that will impact all California employers. This annual report from Greenberg Glusker’s Employment Group summarizes some of the most important new federal and state legal...more
With another year comes another new set of laws for California employers; what else would you expect from sending a bunch of legislators to Sacramento? Here is an overview of the highlights (or lowlights, depending on your...more
Employers operating in multiple states should be aware that several states are raising their minimum hourly wage in 2014. While for now the federal minimum wage will remain unchanged at $7.25 (for non-tipped employees), many...more
On Tuesday, New Jersey voters approved a Constitutional amendment which will increase the state’s minimum wage to $8.25 per hour on January 1, 2014....more
California has amended Cal. Lab. Code § 218.5 to limit the circumstances under which an employer may recover its attorney’s fees and costs as the prevailing party in a lawsuit in which an employee has sued for nonpayment of...more
As of January 1, 2014, a newly-enacted section of the Rhode Island Payment of Wages Act will allow certain private sector employers to pay their employees less frequently than weekly. Employers who wish to run less frequent...more
California Governor Jerry Brown has recently signed into law numerous bills that will impact California employers. The most notable new California statutes, and one new San Francisco Ordinance, are summarized below. All...more
Governor Jerry Brown recently signed bills enacting several new employment statutes, marking the end of the California Legislature’s 2013 regular session.
Increase of Minimum Wage to $10 per Hour by 2016 (AB 10)...more
As the government shutdown winds on, many government contractors and clients have faced stop work orders from the government. Contractors have in turn furloughed their own idle employees. While this is a reasonable and...more
The United States Department of Labor issued a rule last month limiting the ability of home health care employers to claim the companionship exemption for their employees under the Fair Labor Standards Act, which is likely to...more
On September 25, 2013, Governor Brown signed AB 10 into law, raising California’s minimum wage from $8 per hour today to $10 per hour by 2016.
The bill will raise the minimum wage in two separate one-dollar...more
The California Legislature concluded its 2013 regular session on September 12 with a flourish, sending a total this year of 896 bills to Governor Jerry Brown for approval (of 2,256 introduced). By the signing deadline last...more
Individuals and families who for years have directly employed domestic workers to care for elderly or ill family members will see their labor costs increase dramatically beginning January 1, 2015. Under the U.S. DOL's Final...more
Many groups that have lobbied for change as it relates to home care aides seem to have received some victory. Specifically, the Labor Department announced a Final Rule on September 17, 2013 that extends overtime and wage...more
The New York State Department of Labor ("DOL") has adopted wage deduction regulations ("Final Regulations") pertaining to the expanded categories of permissible wage deductions in the New York Labor Law, effective October 9,...more
California Governor Jerry Brown recently signed into law an increase in the state’s minimum wage, from the current rate of $8.00 per hour up to $9.00 per hour beginning on July 1, 2014. The minimum wage will increase again to...more
On September 25, 2013, Governor Jerry Brown signed into law a bill (AB 10) that will raise California’s minimum wage to $10 per hour by January 1, 2016. The legislation will gradually raise the current minimum wage rate of $8...more
Employers sometimes pay workers more than the federal Fair Labor Standards Act requires. Of course, some do so as a matter of choice.
However, in other situations, this happens because management misunderstands what...more
Washington state's minimum wage rate will rise to $9.32 next year, part of an annual inflation adjustment meant to help employees' pay keep pace with the cost of living.
Employers who pay non-exempt employees solely on a commissions or piece-rate basis probably know by now that doing so in California is an increasingly risky proposition. Over the past few years, various California courts have...more
Currently, through California’s Paid Family Leave (“PFL”) insurance program, workers may collect up to six weeks of partial wage replacement benefits while taking leave under the Federal Family Medical Leave Act (“FMLA”) or...more
Governor Jerry Brown recently signed into law a bill that will increase California’s minimum wage in two phases. Beginning July 1, 2014, the minimum wage for California employees will rise from the current $8 per hour to $9...more
This past week, backed by a small army of construction apprentice program students in green hard hats, Governor Jerry Brown signed legislation which will increase California’s minimum wage from its current $8 to $9 per hour...more
Gov. Brown has signed into law a measure that will increase California’s minimum wage from $8.00 per hour to $9.00 per hour on July 1, 2014, and to $10.00 per hour on January 1, 2016. So, California employers must prepare for...more
Beginning on January 1, 2015, the Fair Labor Standards Act will extend its minimum wage and overtime protections to nearly all home health care workers. This changes the playing field for an estimated two million workers who...more