Competition for Medical Marijuana Permits Gets Tighter

Tucker Arensberg, P.C.

At a news briefing yesterday held by Pennsylvania Secretary of Health Karen Murphy, the state announced that it will be issuing up to 27 dispensary permits  and 12 growers/processor permits as part of the initial phase of the Medical Marijuana program, approximately half the amount allowed under the Medical Marijuana Act.

It is anticipated that Allegheny County will receive two dispensary permits and Westmoreland, Butler and Washington Counties will receive one each.  If a dispensary is a recipient of a permit, that dispensary will be allowed to operate one primary location in the county in which it is issued and two secondary locations in different counties.

For growers/processors, there are six (6) designated regions in the state of Pennsylvania.  Initial permitting will allow two (2) permits per region.  Allegheny County is part of the Southwest region, which is also comprised of, Westmoreland, Butler, Washington, Beaver, Cambria, Armstrong, Somerset, Greene, Fayette and Indiana counties.

Applications for Medical Marijuana Dispensaries, which will be available beginning on January 17, 2017, can be submitted between February 20, 2017 and March 20, 2017.

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Tucker Arensberg, P.C. | Attorney Advertising

Written by:

Tucker Arensberg, P.C.

Tucker Arensberg, P.C. on:

Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Custom Email Digest
- hide
- hide