Connecticut Minimum Wage to Increase to $13/hour on August 1, 2021

Murtha Cullina
Contact

As we first blogged on May 17, 2019, the Connecticut state hourly minimum wage will increase on August 1, 2021 from $12.00 to $13.00.  The change, made pursuant to Public Act 19-4, “An Act Increasing the Minimum Fair Wage,” will be the third of five scheduled annual increases to Connecticut’s hourly minimum wage since 2019.  A breakdown of the remaining increases under the Act is as follows:

  • $13.00 on August 1, 2021;
  • $14.00 on July 1, 2022; and
  • $15 on June 1, 2023.

Additional increases after 2023 will be tied to the federal Employment Cost Index calculated by the U.S. Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor Statistics.

The Connecticut minimum wage paid to bartenders will remain at $8.23/hour, while all other tipped employees must receive at least $6.38/hour.

As a reminder, although the federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour, Connecticut, New York and Massachusetts mandate that employers pay a higher minimum wage to employees working their respective states.

 

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Murtha Cullina | Attorney Advertising

Written by:

Murtha Cullina
Contact
more
less

Murtha Cullina on:

Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Custom Email Digest
- hide
- hide

This website uses cookies to improve user experience, track anonymous site usage, store authorization tokens and permit sharing on social media networks. By continuing to browse this website you accept the use of cookies. Click here to read more about how we use cookies.