Law School Toolbox Podcast Episode 219: Mastering People Skills for Success as an Attorney (w/Stephanie Hanna)

Law School Toolbox
Contact
Welcome back to the Law School Toolbox podcast! Today, we're talking with special guest Stephanie Hanna -- Founder of The Other 85 -- about mastering the non-substantive skills that make up 85% of career success for lawyers.

In this episode we discuss:

>Stephanie's background and her work creating The Other See more +

Welcome back to the Law School Toolbox podcast! Today, we're talking with special guest Stephanie Hanna -- Founder of The Other 85 -- about mastering the non-substantive skills that make up 85% of career success for lawyers.

In this episode we discuss:

>Stephanie's background and her work creating The Other 85

>Should you be a giver or a taker?

>Developing a positive networking attitude

>Tips for reaching out, asking for a favor, and following up with people

>Are first-generation law students at a disadvantage when it comes to creating business contacts?

>How to build your network at holiday parties

Resources:

>The Other 85 (https://theother85.net/)

>Give and Take: Why Helping Others Drives our Success, by Adam Grant (https://www.amazon.com/Give-Take-Helping-Others-Success/dp/0143124986)

>Trello (https://trello.com/en)

>Postable (https://www.postable.com/)

>Capture Your Confidence (https://www.whitneyabraham.com/capture-your-confidence)

>How to Conduct Great Informational Interviews (https://thegirlsguidetolawschool.com/how-to-conduct-great-informational-interviews/)

>Five Ways to Take the Awkward Out of Holiday Parties (https://www.attorneyatwork.com/take-the-awkward-out-of-holiday-parties/)

>Stephanie Hanna – Instagram account (https://www.instagram.com/stephanietheother85/)

>Stephanie Hanna – LinkedIn account (https://www.linkedin.com/in/stephaniehanna/)

>Podcast Episode 114: Law School Networking 101 (https://lawschooltoolbox.com/podcast-episode-114-law-school-networking-101/)

>Podcast Episode 207: Navigating Networking Events as a Law Student (https://lawschooltoolbox.com/podcast-episode-207-navigating-networking-events-as-a-law-student/)

Download the Transcript (https://lawschooltoolbox.com/episode-219-mastering-people-skills-for-success-as-an-attorney-w-stephanie-hanna/)

If you enjoy the podcast, we'd love a nice review and/or rating on Apple Podcasts (https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/law-school-toolbox-podcast/id1027603976) or your favorite listening app. And feel free to reach out to us directly. You can always reach us via the contact form on the Law School Toolbox website (http://lawschooltoolbox.com/contact). If you're concerned about the bar exam, check out our sister site, the Bar Exam Toolbox (http://barexamtoolbox.com/). You can also sign up for our weekly podcast newsletter (https://lawschooltoolbox.com/get-law-school-podcast-updates/) to make sure you never miss an episode!

Thanks for listening!

Alison & Lee See less -

Embed
Copy

Other MultiMedia by Law School Toolbox

Written by:

Law School Toolbox
Contact
more
less

Law School Toolbox on:

Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Custom Email Digest
- hide
- hide

This website uses cookies to improve user experience, track anonymous site usage, store authorization tokens and permit sharing on social media networks. By continuing to browse this website you accept the use of cookies. Click here to read more about how we use cookies.