Legal Alert: President Recess Appoints Three Members to NLRB


In what House Speaker John Boehner called "an extraordinary and entirely unprecedented power grab by President Obama," on January 4, 2012 the President announced his intent to recess appoint Democrats Sharon Block and Richard Griffin and Republican Terence F. Flynn to the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB). These appointments will restore a quorum to the Board, which fell to two members when Member Craig Becker's recess appointment expired January 3, 2012.

President Obama nominated Ms. Block and Mr. Griffin on December 15, 2011 and nominated Mr. Flynn on January 5, 2011. Mr. Flynn is currently Chief Counsel to NLRB Board Member Brian Hayes. He previously served as Chief Counsel to former NLRB Board Member Peter Schaumber and, prior to that, was Counsel in the Labor and Employment Group of Crowell & Moring, LLP.

Please see full alert below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© FordHarrison | Attorney Advertising

Written by:


FordHarrison on:

Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Custom Email Digest
- hide
- hide

This website uses cookies to improve user experience, track anonymous site usage, store authorization tokens and permit sharing on social media networks. By continuing to browse this website you accept the use of cookies. Click here to read more about how we use cookies.