

Appeals The Right Addition to Your Trial Team

2010 Primary Election Roundup

Posted on March 3, 2010 by D. Todd Smith

A number of judicial races affecting civil appellate matters took shape following yesterday's primaries. Here are the November major-party matchups.

Texas Supreme Court, Place 3: Rick Green and Debra Lehrmann have emerged as the top two vote-getters in a six-way Republican primary that was not final as of this morning. If the numbers hold true as expected, they will face each other in a runoff next month. The winner will go up against Democrat Jim Sharp to fill an open seat being created by Justice Harriet O'Neill's departure.

Texas Supreme Court, Place 5: Republican incumbent Paul Green versus Democrat Bill Moody.

Texas Supreme Court, Place 9: Republican incumbent Eva Guzman versus Democrat Blake Bailey.

First Court of Appeals, Chief Justice: Republican incumbent Sherry Radack versus Morris Overstreet.

First Court of Appeals, Place 4: Republican incumbent Evelyn Keyes versus Democrat Michael Gomez.

First Court of Appeals, Place 8: Republican incumbent Michael Massengale versus Democrat Robert Ray.

Third Court of Appeals, Place 4: Republican Melissa Goodwin will face Democrat Kurt Kuhn in a race for the seat being vacated by Justice Jan Patterson.

Fourth Court of Appeals, Place 2: Republican incumbent Marialyn Barnard versus Democrat Rebecca Martinez.

Fifth Court of Appeals, Place 4: Republican incumbent Lana Myers versus Bonnie Goldstein.

Fifth Court of Appeals, Place 12: Republican incumbent Robert Filmore versus Democrat Lawrence Praeger.

Sixth Court of Appeals, Chief Justice: Republican incumbent Josh Morriss narrowly defeated challenger H.D. Bailey. Because he has no Democratic opponent in the general election, Chief Justice Morriss will be elected to another six-year term.

Ninth Court of Appeals, Place 2: Republican incumbent Charles Kreger versus Democrat Ron Mangus.

Tenth Court of Appeals, Place 3: Republican incumbent Felipe Reyna lost to Al Scoggins, who lacks a general election opponent and will therefore take office in January.

Thirteenth Court of Appeals, Place 3: Democratic incumbent Linda Yanez versus Republican Greg Perkes.

Fourteenth Court of Appeals, Place 2: Republican incumbent Leslie Brock Yates lost to Sharon McCally, who will face Democrat Norma Venso in the fall.

Fourteenth Court of Appeals, Place 5: Republican Martha Hill Jamison faces Democrat Wally Kronzer in a race for a seat being vacated by Justice Kent Sullivan.

Fourteenth Court of Appeals, Place 9: Republican incumbent Tracy Christopher versus Democrat Tim Riley.

<u>Uncontested Races</u>: Those candidates listed below were unopposed in the primary and likewise have no opponent in the general election.

Second Court of Appeals, Place 3: Republican incumbent Anne Gardner.

Fourth Court of Appeals, Place 6: Republican incumbent Sandee Bryan Marion.

Fifth Court of Appeals, Chief Justice: Republican incumbent Carolyn Wright.

Fifth Court of Appeals, Place 7: Republican incumbent Michael O'Neill.

Seventh Court of Appeals, Place 4: Republican incumbent Jim Campbell.

Eleventh Court of Appeals, Place 3: Republican incumbent Terry McCall.

Twelfth Court of Appeals, Place 2: Republican incumbent Brian Hoyle.

For more detailed coverage of the Texas Supreme Court races, visit the <u>Supreme Court of Texas Blog</u>.

(Post updated at 2:20 p.m. to reorganize and add further results.)