

A Growing INTERPOL: New Member Countries

By Michelle A. Estlund on December 05, 2011

Last month, INTERPOL increased its member countries to 190. As of October 31, 2011, the new member countries are:

- Sint Maarten, with its NCB in Phillipsburg
- Curacao, with its NCB in Willemstad
- The Republic of South Sudan, with its NCB in Juba.

South Sudan became a country in July of this year, as noted <u>here</u>. Curacao and Sint Maarten <u>became autonomous countries</u> when the Netherlands Antilles was dissolved in October of 2010.

A search of the publicized Red Notices on INTERPOL's website shows no Red Notices for Sint Maarten, Curacao, or South Sudan as of today's date. Whether any one of the new member countries will become an active requesting member country remains to be seen.

It is certain, however, that INTERPOL's decision to allow member countries to enter their own Red Notices on INTERPOL's databases will make their membership activity much simpler than it was for longer-standing members of INTERPOL. That ease of entering information will likely add to INTERPOL's ever-growing list of Red Notice subjects as well.

As always, thoughts and comments are welcomed.