Denied again! Two federal courts block Trump’s latest “travel ban” Executive Order

Constangy, Brooks, Smith & Prophete, LLP

Like the first Executive Order, President Trump’s latest “travel ban,” which was to take effect today, has been blocked nationwide by federal judges in Hawaii and Maryland.  

Although both court orders are intended to apply nationwide, the Hawaii order is broader. It applies both to the ban on entry and visa issuance to nationals of the six designated countries (Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, and Yemen), and to the suspension of admission of refugees. The Maryland court’s order does not apply to the “refugee” portion of the EO.

The law regarding the new Executive Order is obviously in a fluid state. Accordingly, we continue to recommend that any individuals from the six “banned” countries who are not excluded by the terms of the Executive Order avoid unnecessary travel outside the United States until the law is settled. 


DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Constangy, Brooks, Smith & Prophete, LLP | Attorney Advertising

Written by:


Constangy, Brooks, Smith & Prophete, LLP on:

Readers' Choice 2017
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:

Sign up to create your digest using LinkedIn*

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.

Already signed up? Log in here

*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.