March 15 and March 18 - Two Important Dates to Make a Note Of

more+
less-

On March 16, 2013, the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is changing from a First-to-Invent system to a First-Inventor-to-File system under the America Invents Act for all patent applications that have a priority date of or after that date.  One major change is the scope of what is considered to be prior art.  For example, sales and public uses which occur in the U.S. are currently considered prior art. As of March 16, 2013, sales and public uses anywhere in the world can act as prior art.

Another change under the AIA is the increased authority the  USPTO will have  to set and change the fees it charges in order to cover its expected costs of providing services. These fees published as Patent Fees Final Rule (78 Fed. Reg. 4212, January 18, 2013) will take effect on March 19, 2013.

Highlighted Fee changes:

Fee Description
 
Current Fee
March 16, 2013
Application Filing Fees – increase
 
 
 
Independent Claims in Excess of 3
 
$250
$420
Track I – reduction
 
 
 
Request for Prioritized examination or Track I
 
$4,800
$4,000
Request for Continued Examination (RCE) – increase
 
 
 
Second and Subsequent RCE
 
$930
$1,700
Ex Parte Reexamination – reduction
 
 
 
Ex Parte Reexamination
 
$17,750
$12,000
Maintenance Fees – increase
 
 
 
Due at 3.5 years
 
$1,150
$1,600
Due at 7.5 years
 
$2,900
$3,600

A patent application filed before March 16, 2013 can be used as a parent application/priority application for filing continuation applications after March 16, 2013. The continuation application(s) will be examined under the "first-to-invent" and pre-AIA rules.  Therefore, you may wish to file any applications by March 15, 2013.

The AIA rule changes can be confusing and we want to provide you information to help guide you through the numerous new rules.  If you have any questions about any of these changes, please contact us at your convenience.

Atlanta, Georgia
Carl M. Davis 678.406.8703 cdavis@bakerdonelson.com
Dorian B. Kennedy 678.406.8705 dkennedy@bakerdonelson.com
Michael J. Powell 678.406.8707 mpowell@bakerdonelson.com
Clint Crosby Jr. 678.406.8702 ccrosby@bakerdonelson.com
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Warner Joseph Delaune 225.381.7032 wdelaune@bakerdonelson.com
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Micheline Kelly Johnson 423.209.4103 mjohnson@bakerdonelson.com
Knoxville, Tennessee
Peter L. Brewer 865.971.5102 pbrewer@bakerdonelson.com
Thomas A. Hodge 678.406.8706 thodge@bakerdonelson.com
Memphis, Tennessee
Julie R. Baldridge 901.577.8132 jbaldridge@bakerdonelson.com
Nashville, Tennessee
W. Edward Ramage 615.726.5771 eramage@bakerdonelson.com
Washington, D.C.
Richard E. L. Henderson, Ph.D. 202.508.3400 rhenderson@bakerdonelson.com
D. Christopher Holly, Ph.D. 202.508.3451 cholly@bakerdonelson.com
Shazi Jiang, M.D. 202.508.3420 sjiang@bakerdonelson.com
Bryan W. Jones 202.508.3428 bjones@bakerdonelson.com
Susan E. McBee 202.508.3450 smcbee@bakerdonelson.com
Chester G. Moore, Ph.D. 202.654.4627 cmoore@bakerdonelson.com
David L. Vanik, Ph.D. 202.508.3406 dvanik@bakerdonelson.com
David W. Woodward 202.508.3423 dwoodward@bakerdonelson.com