The 2012 IFC Performance Standard on Indigenous Peoples: What's the Fuss?

The new IFC Environmental and Social Performance Standards -- in particular, Performance Standard 7 on indigenous peoples -- present a range of management and operational challenges for certain companies. For the first time, the Performance Standard includes a requirement of free, prior, and informed consent (“FPIC”) from indigenous peoples.

The new Performance Standards went into effect in January 2012 and are applicable to a greater number of the IFC’s investments than the 2006 Performance Standards, which only applied to project finance. Notably, the new Standards only apply to the IFC’s new investments, while the the 2006 Performance Standards apply to existing investments. Notably, the Equator Banks will apply the 2012 Performance Standards to new investments, which will result in their application to much of the world’s project financing.

The 2006 Performance Standard on indigenous peoples required “free, prior, informed consultation.” The requirement of consent in the new Performance Standard 7 comes on top of arguably more rigorous and complex requirements in Performance Standard 1 that address engagement with all communities.

Performance Standard 7 requires IFC clients to identify adverse impacts on indigenous communities and develop action plans to address them with the informed consultation and participation of affected indigenous communities. In addition, companies are expected to seek the FPIC of communities when...

Please see full article below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

Written by:

Published In:

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Foley Hoag LLP - Corporate Social Responsibility | Attorney Advertising

Don't miss a thing! Build a custom news brief:

Read fresh new writing on compliance, cybersecurity, Dodd-Frank, whistleblowers, social media, hiring & firing, patent reform, the NLRB, Obamacare, the SEC…

…or whatever matters the most to you. Follow authors, firms, and topics on JD Supra.

Create your news brief now - it's free and easy »

All the intelligence you need, in one easy email:

Great! Your first step to building an email digest of JD Supra authors and topics. Log in with LinkedIn so we can start sending your digest...

Sign up for your custom alerts now, using LinkedIn ›

* With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name.