U.S. Treasury Department Releases Model FATCA Intergovernmental Agreements


On July 26, 2012, the U.S. Department of Treasury released its first model intergovernmental agreement (IGA) implementing the information reporting and withholding tax provisions under the Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA). FATCA was enacted by Congress in 2010 in an effort to combat avoidance of U.S. tax by U.S. taxpayers through the use of foreign accounts. The IGA, developed in consultation with France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom, facilitates the automatic exchange of foreign account information between the United States and the foreign country (FATCA Partner). This is now referred to as the Model I approach. Please see our Client Alert of March 5, 2012 here for a more detailed discussion of FATCA generally and the Model I approach.

It is expected that Treasury will release a second model IGA (Model II) in consultation with Japan and Switzerland in the near future. Please see our Client Alert of July 6, 2012 here for a more detailed discussion of the Model II approach.

Please see full alert below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

Written by:

Published In:


DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© King & Spalding | Attorney Advertising

Don't miss a thing! Build a custom news brief:

Read fresh new writing on compliance, cybersecurity, Dodd-Frank, whistleblowers, social media, hiring & firing, patent reform, the NLRB, Obamacare, the SEC…

…or whatever matters the most to you. Follow authors, firms, and topics on JD Supra.

Create your news brief now - it's free and easy »

All the intelligence you need, in one easy email:

Great! Your first step to building an email digest of JD Supra authors and topics. Log in with LinkedIn so we can start sending your digest...

Sign up for your custom alerts now, using LinkedIn ›

* With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name.