Legal Alert: California Law Banning Cell Phone Use While Driving Takes Effect July 1

more+
less-

California?s law banning the use of cell phones while driving goes into effect July 1, 2008. The California Wireless Telephone Automobile Safety Act imposes a minimum $20 fine for anyone caught driving and using a cell phone unless the driver uses a headset, ear bud or other technology that frees both hands. The fine increases to $50 for subsequent violations. Drivers under 18 are prohibited from using cell phones while driving even if a hands-free device is used, and are also prohibited from using ?mobile service devices? such as Blackberries, pagers and laptops.

See full alert for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.


DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© FordHarrison | Attorney Advertising

Written by:

more+
less-

FordHarrison on:

JD Supra Readers' Choice 2016 Awards
Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:

Sign up to create your digest using LinkedIn*

*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.

Already signed up? Log in here

*With LinkedIn, you don't need to create a separate login to manage your free JD Supra account, and we can make suggestions based on your needs and interests. We will not post anything on LinkedIn in your name. Or, sign up using your email address.
×
Loading...
×
×