Florida's minimum wage rate increased to $7.93 effective January 1, 2014. As we reported in November, Florida's minimum wage law requires the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity to recalculate Florida's minimum wage annually based upon the increase in the federal Consumer Price Index for Urban Earners and Clerical Workers in the Southern Region. This minimum wage increase applies to all employees who are covered by the federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
This hourly increase also impacts the wages that must be paid to tipped employees working in Florida. While employers of tipped employees may take a credit of up to $3.02 per hour, tipped employees must also receive a direct hourly wage. Effective January 1, 2014, this direct hourly wage must be at least $4.91 – calculated as Florida's minimum wage ($7.93) minus the permissible tip credit ($3.02).