Doing Business in Latin America and The Caribbean: Ecuador

MERITAS - Law Firms Worldwide

Situated on the northwest coast of South America, the Republic of Ecuador encompasses an area of approximately 256,549 square kilometers, or 99,438 square miles.

Ecuador is a constitutional, democratic, sovereign and independent state.

The 2008 Constitution mandates that the president stay in his functions up to a four-year term and can be reelected only one time.

The legislative branch of the state is the National Assembly, which is integrated by assemblymen elected for four-year terms. The judiciary is comprised of the National Court of Justice, Provincial Courts, Appeals Courts and the Constitutional Court.

The total population of Ecuador is 14,483,499 (2012 estimate). Spanish is the official language of Ecuador and many people are familiar with English in the main cities. The U.S. dollar was established as Ecuador’s official currency in March 2000.

Please see full publication below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

Written by:

MERITAS - Law Firms Worldwide

MERITAS - Law Firms Worldwide on:

Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Custom Email Digest
- hide
- hide

This website uses cookies to improve user experience, track anonymous site usage, store authorization tokens and permit sharing on social media networks. By continuing to browse this website you accept the use of cookies. Click here to read more about how we use cookies.