Restriction on US Admissions Expanded Due to Coronavirus COVID-19

Morgan Lewis

Morgan Lewis

President Donald Trump expanded the ban on March 14 on US admissions to include all individuals who have traveled to the United Kingdom and/or Ireland during the 14-day period preceding their anticipated entry to the country. The new restrictions are slated to take effect at midnight (EST) on Monday, March 16.

This expansion is in addition to the previously announced ban, which applies to all individuals who had traveled to the following 26 Schengen Area countries during the past 14 days: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Similarly, the previously implemented suspension of entry to the United States for all aliens physically present within the People’s Republic of China (excluding Hong Kong and Macau) and Iran during the 14-day period preceding their entry to the United States also remains in effect.

Bulgaria, Croatia, and Cyprus, which are not part of the Schengen area, remain exempted from the travel restriction at this time. Therefore, individuals from these three countries who have not traveled to any of the 30 implicated countries during the past 14 days should not be impacted.

The previously announced classes of individuals continue to be exempt from the suspension. All US citizens, green card holders, and their immediate family members will be required to enter the United States through one of 13 predesignated airports:

  1. Boston-Logan International Airport, Massachusetts
  2. Chicago O’Hare International Airport, Illinois
  3. Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, Texas
  4. Detroit Metropolitan Airport, Michigan
  5. Daniel K. Inouye International Airport, Hawaii
  6. Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport, Georgia
  7. John F. Kennedy International Airport, New York
  8. Los Angeles International Airport, California
  9. Miami International Airport, Florida
  10. Newark Liberty International Airport, New Jersey
  11. San Francisco International Airport, California
  12. Seattle-Tacoma International Airport, Washington
  13. Washington-Dulles International Airport, Virginia

Upon arrival, exempt travelers will be subject to enhanced screening for COVID-19, which will include questioning about their medical history and current medical condition, as well as a request for contact information to be shared with local health authorities. Select travelers will also be required to have their temperature taken. Once travelers return home, they will be required to self-quarantine for 14 days. They will then be contacted by local and state public health officials to ensure compliance with Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) best practices.

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Morgan Lewis | Attorney Advertising

Written by:

Morgan Lewis

Morgan Lewis on:

Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Custom Email Digest
- hide
- hide

This website uses cookies to improve user experience, track anonymous site usage, store authorization tokens and permit sharing on social media networks. By continuing to browse this website you accept the use of cookies. Click here to read more about how we use cookies.