Canadian Border Closure Extended to July 31, 2020 for International Travel & Quarantine Requirements for All People Entering Canada Extended to August 31, 2020



Canadian Border Closure Extended to July 31, 2020 for International Travellers

As anticipated, the Government of Canada has extended the restriction on all foreign nationals entering Canada from destinations other than the United States until at least July 31, 2020.  The restriction on travel from the United States is until at least July 21, 2020.

The current Order-in-Council that restricts international travellers from entering Canada was set to expire tonight at midnight.  Given the global pandemic infection rate in numerous countries continues to be significantly higher than the rate in Canada, the Government was very clear in emphasizing a cautious approach to re-opening borders. 

The terms and exemptions from the previous Order-in-Council will be maintained.  There was hope that certain Nordic and Baltic countries would be permitted entry given their low infection rates, but those provisions were not implemented. 

Companies should be prepared that unless the global pandemic rate decreases in the next month, the border restrictions may continue (with hopefully the easing of restrictions on certain nationalities). 

Mandatory 14-Day Quarantine Requirement Extended to August 31, 2020

The Government of Canada has confirmed that the mandatory 14-day quarantine period for all travellers entering Canada has been extended to at least August 31, 2020. This applies to all Canadian citizens, permanent residents and foreigners entering Canada by air or land. The terms and exemptions from the earlier Order-in-Council will be maintained.

Every traveller entering Canada will be asked to provide their Canadian contact details upon entry. The Government has indicated that each traveller will be contacted by the public health agency throughout the isolation period to ensure compliance. If a traveller is not able to provide a secure residence in which they can self-isolate, which would not put vulnerable people at risk, then public health authorities will make arrangements for their isolation.

Canada on List of 14 Countries Recommended for Entry to the EU

Separately, the European Union announced they have recommended that travellers from 14 countries, including Canada, should be permitted to visit the EU.  It is up to each member state to ratify the recommendation, but it is expected that most countries will ratify it. The new travel policy is expected to be implemented on July 1, 2020.  The list of approved countries will be re-evaluated every two weeks, based on pandemic infection rates. 

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Littler | Attorney Advertising

Written by:


Littler on:

Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Custom Email Digest
- hide
- hide

This website uses cookies to improve user experience, track anonymous site usage, store authorization tokens and permit sharing on social media networks. By continuing to browse this website you accept the use of cookies. Click here to read more about how we use cookies.