Establishing A Business Entity In Canada (Updated)

International Lawyers Network

Bilingual and Bi-Juridical -

Canada is a bilingual, bi-juridical, and multicultural country, composed of 10 provinces and 3 territories. English and French are federally mandated official languages pursuant to the Official Languages Act (Canada). French is the official language in the Province of Québec pursuant to the Charter of the French Language (Québec). The legal system of all provinces and territories (other than the Province of Québec) is based upon the Common Law, derived from England. Québec (like the American State of Louisiana) is governed by the Civil Law system, derived from the French Napoleonic Code, as reflected in the Civil Code of Lower Canada adopted in 1866 (one year prior to Confederation) and replaced as of January 1st , 1994 by the Civil Code of Québec (the “CCQ”).

Levels of Government and Jurisdiction -

Canada has several levels of government: federal, provincial/territorial, and municipal. The allocation of exclusive jurisdiction between the federal and provincial/territorial governments was established under the British North America Act of 1867 at the time of Confederation.

Please see full Chapter below for more information.

LOADING PDF: If there are any problems, click here to download the file.

Written by:

International Lawyers Network

International Lawyers Network on:

Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Custom Email Digest
- hide
- hide

This website uses cookies to improve user experience, track anonymous site usage, store authorization tokens and permit sharing on social media networks. By continuing to browse this website you accept the use of cookies. Click here to read more about how we use cookies.