President Biden Names Charlotte Burrows As EEOC Chair

Jackson Lewis P.C.

One day after President Joe Biden’s inauguration, the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) announced that he has named current EEOC Commissioner Charlotte A. Burrows Chair of the EEOC and Commissioner Jocelyn Samuels Vice Chair of the EEOC.

Burrows and Samuels are Democrats and replace former Chair Janet Dhillon and former Vice Chair Keith E. Sonderling. Dhillon and Sonderling are both Republicans.

In installing a new Chair, Biden is moving much faster than former President Donald Trump. Approximately a week after Trump’s inauguration, he named an “Acting” EEOC Chair. Trump was well past the mid-point of his term in office — May 2019 — when he named an actual Chair.

As Chair, Burrows will be responsible for the administration and implementation of policy for and the financial management and organizational development of the EEOC.

Of the five presidentially appointed EEOC Commissioners, three are Republicans and two are Democrats. Absent an early departure by one of the three Republican Commissioners, the next Republican Commissioner’s term expires July 1, 2022.

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Jackson Lewis P.C. | Attorney Advertising

Written by:

Jackson Lewis P.C.

Jackson Lewis P.C. on:

Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Custom Email Digest
- hide
- hide

This website uses cookies to improve user experience, track anonymous site usage, store authorization tokens and permit sharing on social media networks. By continuing to browse this website you accept the use of cookies. Click here to read more about how we use cookies.