Time’s Up - and So Is the Current Minimum Wage in Connecticut

Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.
Contact

Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.Attention, Connecticut employers. October 1, 2019, marks the implementation of two new Connecticut laws. First, Connecticut will begin gradually increasing its minimum wage on October 1, 2019, raising the minimum wage to $11.00 an hour. Second, Connecticut’s Time’s Up Act, which extends sexual harassment training requirements to all employers in the state, also goes into effect. Now is the time to make sure that your policies and procedures are in compliance.

Minimum Wage

The increase of Connecticut’s minimum hourly wage to $11.00 on October 1 is the first in a series of gradual increases that will ultimately raise the state’s minimum hourly wage to $15.00. The subsequent pay increase steps are as follows:

  • $12.00 on September 1, 2020
  • $13.00 on August 1, 2021
  • $14.00 on July 1, 2022
  • $15.00 on June 1, 2023

Sexual Harassment Training

Also starting October 1, 2019, employers with three or more employees must provide two hours of sexual harassment training to all employees—both supervisory and nonsupervisory—within the first six months of their employment. For current employees, the training must be completed by October 1, 2020, unless the employer previously provided such training after October 1, 2018, in which case the employer does not have to repeat the instruction.

For employers with fewer than three employees, employees hired or promoted into supervisory positions on or after October 1, 2019, must receive two hours of sexual harassment training within six months of hire or promotion. For current supervisors, the two hours of sexual harassment training must be completed by October 1, 2020, unless the employer previously provided such training after October 1, 2018.

Connecticut employers may want to review their training, posting, and notice policies to ensure they comply with the new law’s protections. Compliance is particularly important in light of the heightened penalties employers face under the law and given that the law authorizes a representative of the Connecticut Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities to enter an employer’s place of business to determine whether the employer is complying with the posting and training requirements. An in-depth discussion of the sexual harassment training requirements, including notice requirements, corrective action, and penalties, can be found in our article of July 2, 2019, “Time’s Up: Connecticut Employers to Prepare for New Sexual Harassment Training and Protections.”

DISCLAIMER: Because of the generality of this update, the information provided herein may not be applicable in all situations and should not be acted upon without specific legal advice based on particular situations.

© Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C. | Attorney Advertising

Written by:

Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.
Contact
more
less

Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C. on:

Reporters on Deadline

"My best business intelligence, in one easy email…"

Your first step to building a free, personalized, morning email brief covering pertinent authors and topics on JD Supra:
*By using the service, you signify your acceptance of JD Supra's Privacy Policy.
Custom Email Digest
- hide
- hide

This website uses cookies to improve user experience, track anonymous site usage, store authorization tokens and permit sharing on social media networks. By continuing to browse this website you accept the use of cookies. Click here to read more about how we use cookies.