The long-term-care industry depends on shift workers to provide patient care 24 hours per day, seven days per week. But even experienced and sophisticated employers can find the application of state and federal labor and...more
Many California employers are not aware that requiring employees to work more than one shift in a day, or including a significant break in a workday, can trigger a penalty. Specifically, each Wage Order issued by the...more
On September 25, 2013, Governor Brown signed AB 10 into law, raising California’s minimum wage from $8 per hour today to $10 per hour by 2016.
The bill will raise the minimum wage in two separate one-dollar...more
An employee who attended scheduled meetings and worked at least half of the scheduled time was not entitled to receive “reporting time pay” and he also was not entitled to additional compensation for “split shift” pay when he...more
Back to Top